I think everybody needs to watch this. Even though in the video it is all women, it still applies just as much to men.  This video really got to me as I'm sure it will affect a few of you as well.  After watching this I realized how much we underestimate ourselves not only with our appearance but also with everything else we do. I think that it is important that we start to highlight the positive things about ourselves more often. We tend to compare ourselves to everyone else in the world, especially celebrities that we see in magazines and online, but when you actually take a look, they aren't even real images of them. They have professionals come along and edit so many things that it's not even a real person anymore.
So next time you are feeling down, stop comparing yourself to people you wish you were and look at just yourself. Everybody is unique in their own way. You might not see it, but everyone else can.
Matt
5/8/2013 03:15:53 am

This is a great post about how we perceive ourselves compared to the how the media portrays the celebrities that we idolize. It is pretty unsettling that we have been mislead about the "perfection" of celebrities and this really does have a negative impact on our pessimism. You make a great point about how we should be more positive about ourselves.

Reply
Steph H
5/9/2013 02:10:57 am

Wonderful that you are bringing to light the falsehoods of media and how it affects young girls. I like how you encouraged girls to ignore these damaging messages :)

Reply
Maggie
5/9/2013 02:12:28 am

Loved this post. The images that switch back and forth from real to edited make your point even more effective. I completely agree that we need to stop comparing ourselves to celebrities, because even they themselves can't live up to the expectations of their own pictures.

Reply
Whitley
5/9/2013 02:26:35 am

Thank you for posting about this. The pictures you incorporated were very effective. It definitely made me reflect on how I perceive myself!

Reply
sam
6/17/2013 10:21:24 am

you're welcome :) I'm glad I can make an impact

Reply
Kira
5/9/2013 10:45:26 pm

Thank you so much for posting this!! I absolutely love this video, I've watched in three times... it's such a great message. Even though people often only see their own flaws, no one else really does! Everyone in the video completely skipped over the wrinkles, the small imperfections in the other people, because think about it, we only really notice those things in ourselves.

I love your review on this, reading it actually made me feel so much better about myself. Adding those pictures also had a strong effect. Especially seeing actresses like Jennifer Laurence who is known for loving her body and refusing to diet for roles, I didn't know they altered her that much!

You're right, this is something everyone, not only women can relate to. Great post!!

Reply
Sam
5/9/2013 10:52:17 pm

I think this is such an important message to get across to all of us, especially the youth of our generation. I also think it's equally important to spread another message, and that is that we should find value and take pride in who we are as people rather than in solely our appearances. Often the two are intertwined; one is unable to feel fully confident and happy with themselves as unless they feel this way as well about their exterior. To me, this is the bigger issue. It's not only letting people know that yes, they can and should feel beautiful, but also that physical beauty wont follow you to the grave; it won't keep your loved ones at your side. Nonetheless, wonderful post Sam, it was very refreshing.

Reply
Fergy
5/16/2013 10:40:34 pm

I like how you tackled this issue. Well done on weighing in.

Reply
Victoria
5/17/2013 12:25:54 am

I love the video you shared it was really powerful. I also think that it's really important for people to realize that most pictures in magazines are photoshopped. In my commtech class I did a project on the way magazines use Photoshop to alter their pictures and it was crazy when you realize just how fake all the pictures you see are.

Reply



Leave a Reply.